Week 105 in the Mission Field

Hi everyone,

Honestly,  this past week has flown by… and all is a blur… 

Tuesday, we had our district meeting! They did a funeral for me, that was different to be on the receiving side then we went out to eat! I asked for no cheese and well…. forgot check….. and we went out with our ward mission leader!
Wednesday, we got to do service at the food bank and did a bunch of less-active hunting, a lot of tracting! We went over to the mission home to help one of the senior couple unload a trailer load of stuff!
Thursday, I got to see Elder Howe in the Hospital! He remembered me right off the bat and kept trying to get up to go do stuff. It was great to see him then we did some tracting and tried to see a few people but they cancelled on us….
Friday, we had the ward Christmas party which was a ton of fun! My companion and got to sit on Santa’s lap and we did a bunch of tracting again! 

Saturday, we biked to go do some service and well…. it being a nice and brisk temperature of 39 degrees made us bike rather fast. Service at the food bank was great until the end… when one of the guys learned that I was going home and about transfers. He though it’d be a good idea to call the mission President and let him know why we needed to stay… then we had a good discussion! It ended up being rather funny…. someone(not me) learned that white guys cant say certain words…. and some people (again not me) will always sound white no matter what they do… or say! The different meanings of a lot of other words, haha! I have not laughed that hard in a while!

Sunday, I gave my go home testimony in church and we had dinner at the Rabalais! We came back and tried to see Daniel but he wasn’t home… and we spent some time with our neighbor! 
Monday, we were asked by the people at the food bank if we could come in and help because they were having the To Day Show come in and do take some shots of the food bank and interview some people!then  we went and helped a member’s cousin move some stuff! Later that night, we went over to the Marchan’s to have Family Home Evening which turned out great! 

We had a amazing lesson with Rick Marchan, we studied Mormon chapter 9!I have  2 suitcases, a backpack, my shoulder bag and the duffel bag. My clothes are a bit worn out so when  I get home I’m going to have to get some and order new garments. I’m going to be a popcycle when I get home!It was 39 degrees last Saturday… and that was COLD!  Im going to need some warm stuff. I have coats though so I’m good in that area! My camera…. it’s starting to break…….. it’s not zooming in/out right. We are eating with Gene Young Thursday night, Kim  and Kelly  Newsome Friday afternoon, Sister Matri Friday night and then Saturday night we are staying with the Johnsons. I’m looking forward to going out to eat with Doug, just not armadillo! I’m looking forward to seeing my family and showing y’all around.  I’m pretty much all packed. 

It’s been an amazing 2 years here in Louisiana! I’ve learned a ton about myself and about many other churches. I know that Jesus Christ is each of our Savior. I know he is the same yesterday, today, and forever! He calls prophets in our day. If he does not then he would be a changing God. I have come to know that there are many good churches in this world today.  They offer much but there is only one that can and will bless each of us more then any other church and has more to give to us then any other. I have come to know for myself that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints  is run by Christ, and that it is His church on the earth today, and through it can we come to know Christ better then from anywhere else. I have been to dozens and dozens of churches here in the south and there are many good people in each but they are run by man. I have seen pastors get run out of town because the people did not like what they had to say, and I have seen churches change their doctrine. Christ and His Apostles didn’t get paid for what they do, they did it out of love and so should we! Proverbs 3:5-6 will carry you if you let it. If you have questions ask them because the answer will always be no unless you ask! If you see those 2 guys knocking doors or riding their bikes be nice and talk to them! Life as a missionary is already hard enough… you can brighten up their day or anyone’s day by just being nice and talking to them! I know that the more we give to the Lord, the more He can and will give you back! Christ never tore people down, He corrected them and built them up. I have come across so many people that tear others religion down, and I know that tearing  others down is not of Christ. We all have our own views and things we think are right and that’s great but when you force it upon others and degrade them then your not doing what Christ did. Thete  is a time and place for everything. If you want to come closer to Christ,  do the hard things and ask the Lord what He will have you do, then follow it. 

Looking forward to talking in my home Ward sacrament January 1. Maybe I can do a musical number sometime, too. Hope y’all have an amazing week!
Love,
Elder Micah A. Ralph!

Leave a Reply

